Recipe: Cherry Popsicles

Sour cherries are one of my favorite summer flavors.  They are only around for a few weeks so I always try and make as many things as I can with them, especially frozen things,  like ice creams and popsicles because it means they will stick around a little longer. There is no exact recipe for this – it’s all about tasting as you go.

Step #1

Prepping the cherries is definitely the most annoying part of the process.  I like to use a knife to remove the seed, which takes longer but damages the fruit less.  I just remind myself how good the end result will be the whole time I’m cutting out each one by hand.  Helps the time pass faster.  Prep enough sour cherries to yield one quart fruit.

Step #2

Combine the fruit with 1 cup sugar in a pot and cook until the mixture simmers.  Adjust with more sugar or lemon juice depending on your personal taste.  I like things really tart so I usually add a bit of lemon. Spread onto a pan and cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate until cold.

Step #3

Place 2 qts vanilla yogurt, 1 vanilla bean and the sour cherries into a bowl.  Stir to combine.  Taste again and adjust with sugar as needed.

Step #4

Fill popsicle molds and tap to release any air bubbles.  Skewer with popsicle sticks and freeze.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment